top of page

Song of the Deaf (a poem)



The rivers cease to babble for me

For me the wind rustle silent leaves

For me the birds refuse to sing their songs

For me, the waves, their crashes are gone


For me, my loved ones footsteps have

vanished, footless ghosts they have become

For me, their sweet voices have become distant and lost

The slamming of doors has become so soft


For me, there are no available places

To join the symphony of those laughing faces

For me they sing lyric-less songs with no resounding applause

Yet for me the world holds its breath...is paused


A world fallen silent, as if waiting for me to speak

So I open my mouth to break this spell

But nothing, not a sound

Besides, how could I tell...



By M.G. Teagan




Photo credit: Pinterest



Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page